Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Dot gov

The .gov means it’s official.
Federal government websites often end in .gov or .mil. Before sharing sensitive information, make sure you’re on a federal government site.


The site is secure.
The https:// ensures that you are connecting to the official website and that any information you provide is encrypted and transmitted securely.

person holding globe standing at field

2001 Agreement on Mutual Acceptance of Oenological Practices (MAA)

The MAA recognises that each WWTG member has established acceptable mechanisms for regulating wine-making practices, and in turn agrees to accept the wine-making practices of all other Parties. It is intended to facilitate trade in wine, and to avoid the imposition of obstacles to such trade, through Parties permitting the importation of wine produced in another Party that is produced in accordance with that other Party’s laws, regulations and requirements related to oenological practices and the mechanism to regulate them.

The MAA is not a single set of wine-making standards. Rather, it provides for mutual recognition of oenological practices approved by each Party. This also enhances the international acceptability of wine produced in WWTG countries. Adoption of the principles of the MAA by additional countries would facilitate trade in wine, both within the region and internationally. This could provide a significant benefit both to emerging wine industries and consumers within these countries.

The MAA benefits winemakers, exporters and importers by assuring them access to markets without the costs and frustrations of trade barriers based on differences in wine-making practices.

Download a PDF of the MAA in English, Spanish, and French

Cape Town Joint Statement

MAA Parties and Status List

Discover All WWTG Agreements